Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 2nd, 2008

Libra’s love to day dream, so I thought I would share a recent daydream. I figure since my love life is none existent in reality, I may as well conjure up one in my head.

I tend to do a tone of online dating (tone as in a 2-3 dates a yearish of actually meeting people) so its like normal for me really, I just added it to part of my dating life and kept things rolling. Well I ran across a guy on this one site plentyoffish.com. Very attractive 29 year old engineer. I think to myself “he seems pretty down to earth” as I tend to be so optimistic about any type of engineer they always have some crazy cork about them but I still gravitate towards them. So I sent him a message “you seem cool hit me up” I left it simple because I really hate going into long drawn out messages for people who may or may not respond. For a while he didn’t, then one day a messaged popped up on my yahoo screen saying “got your message” So I added him to the list of friends and left him a note saying hope to talk to you soon.

Since then I been putting us two together and here is the story line.

His name was Kevin and he was from the Detroit area. Working for a major automotive company for about 5 years or so. He goes on to tell me he does a lot of traveling but really would like to have a woman to settle down with. “Would you like to go out” he asked. I reply I’d love to.

It was about 6pm sharp when he arrived at my apartment door. I open the door and he looks every bit of what I had imagined him to be. He wore a short fade hair cut, his skin was a nice chocolate brown, and he had a nicely trimmed goatee. He was tastefully dressed with a button up polo and some jeans and nice clean white gym shoes. I had flat ironed my hair a few hours ago and decided to wear it pint up with a few curls here n there. I had on a cute baby phat top that was one side shoulderless and a white tank under it, some cute straight leg jeans and my purple n grey shoes. I had purple earrings and a purple bracelet not sure whats with the purple but thankfully i was matching which is was counted. “Mikki right?” as I opened the door to let him in and show him to the living room. “Yes its nice to finally meet you Kevin” I tell him I am going to grab my purse and we head out for a night on the town.

Car ride

As you all know I tend to worry about what a guy thinks of me particularly when it comes to online dating because people can look very different from pictures, even when I think I am fabulous i still wonder about myself. “So Kevin do I look like my pictures?” (nervously waiting for a decent response) while acting like im making general conversation. ” Actually you look better than your pictures” I always worry when I go on dates, ya know just one of those things you never seem to feel comfortable with until your there. “Yea I know exactly what you mean” So we chat it up on the car ride to a place I had been dying to take a guy on a first date.

The pottery barn

No not the furniture store. Its actually a place where you can make actual pottery, clay molds, cups, plates anything. It was my first time there but still somehow I was sure it would make a cool date just like on tv when they pick random places to go. “What the hell is that?” Kevin asked looking at my clay mold as if it was a gun” What you mean what is it, its a jewlrey box” Nawl ma that looks like a “weed box”. Haha, so you smoke?? “Not anymore but back in the day I did, and what your making looks like some shit I would hide my weed in. “ah you got jokes, its all good” So we ended up finishing our projects and having a lot of fun the instructor said she thought we did good for our first lesson tho i was sure she was lying but it was cool.

Dinner was at the Japanese restaurant. They cook the food in front of you and do hat tricks and stuff which is super cool to me. Kevin told me stories about when He was in Japan and how the food is more americanized than anything. We again had a good time. Later that night We head back to my place and I was determined to be a lady and not do nothing random like I normally do. So he walked me to my door and waited until I got the keys out. “So when am I going to see you again Mikki” I don’t know we will have to talk about it this week ok? Yea thats cool. So he leans in to hug me and I just about melted. It was a very soft and gentle hug as if to say I want more but I am respectful, kinda hug. He lets go and tells me to have a good night and walks away…….

The next morning I recieved a phone call from Kevin “I hope I didn’t wake you”. (thinkin hell yea u did) “Nope I was up, how are you this morning? ” I’m good, I was just thinkin about last night but I really wanted to hear your voice this morning before I left for work. “Work on saturday?” Yea well I am on call 7 days a week pretty much. “Oh” Well have a good day. “I am working late tonight but I was hoping we could get together on sunday” I have some tickets to the pistons game and I want you to come with me, You think you can come? (im thinkin omg date 2 score!! ) resuming my calm cool voice. Yep I can come what time shall I be there?? ” About 2pm” He replies. Ok I will call you when I am on my way “Click”

I really can’t wait to see him again, I may be jumping to conclusions to fast but I think he likes me. One day at a time sista girl, one day at a time………….

Sunday Afternoon

So after a long but uneventful hour long drive to Detroit, I finally arrive at Kevin’s apartment. Its actually about 30 minutes west of Detroit in a nearby suburb. I ring his phone to let him know im on my way up and he buzzes me in. As he opens the door im hit with an aroma of something cooking. I took a brief moment to survey the small but tastefully decorated space as he let me in. His apartment is very neat and clean, nice for a bachelor not to over the top, he had a bunch of pictures all over of random art and a keyboard in the corner that I planned to inquire about eventually. He takes my coat. “Are you cooking?” Yea babe, I thought I would make us dinner before we went to the game, that concession stand food is the worst plus I ain’t about to be paying 7 dollars for 1 hot dog. Wow, he actually takes time to explain his frugalities to me (not cheap) because he did actually cook, cheap would have been going to mcdonalds on the way. “Here taste this” He cools off a spoon full of meat sauce and proceeds to feed me it. “Yea its good” “Uh im not sure my momma gave me this spaghetti recipe and I wanna make sure its right. “I’m just shocked you didn’t burn the kitchen down” Haha girl you know my momma taught me better than that. “She said boy I know u don’t think a woman is going to be cookin all your meals now do you” I love my momma but that woman made me slave over a hot stove on the regular, but im glad she did, otherwise we would be eating hot dogs right now” So we chowed down on the food and left for the game an hour or so later.

The game was packed. This pistons were playing the heats that day, and I still can’t figure out why he took me to that game rather than his boys (maybe a player move) Yet I was still happy, we had good seats and I happened to catch a t-shirt being thrown into the crowd by Pistons dancers Automotion. We got home a little after 7ish, and soon as we hit the door we both plopped onto the couch from exhaustion. “beep beep” His cell phone was going off in his pocket, he proceeds to look at it to see who is calling. “who is it?” “work” (I thought he was lying) but he goes on to answer the phone and they chat it up for a good 10 minutes. He goes on talking about something being wrong with the main frame and that he already told headquarters he wasn’t going to make the trip to Venezuela to trouble shoot it. Either find somebody else or let me try and work it from home. I am thinkin dang he got the balls but who would turn down a trip outta the country??. So he finally hung up and took a deep sigh. “whats wrong?” I may have to leave in a few days. “I may as well have became a fuckin doctor the way they have my schedule. I sit there with a blank stare. “I’m sorry baby, this day was about you. He takes me in his arms and pulls me closer to him and leans in to kiss me, I eagerly respond and kiss him back. It was one of those kisses you kinda never want to end, yet it was short and sweet, He motions me to lay on his chest and we fell asleep right there on the couch. I was in heaven.

To be continued…..

and the pistons won that day 106-98

Read Full Post »